using command line arguments %1 %2

Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.

Moderator: DosItHelp

carl

using command line arguments %1 %2

#1 Post by carl » 14 Jul 2008 19:13

hello there
Absolute beginner

Can anyone help me with this, the first part is no problem, its the second part "a more general version with arguments" the one in bold that i carn't seem to get the grip of, i have been trying this out quite a few times without success
I must be getting something wrong.................windows xp

It is sell explanatry i know, but if anyone can clarify it a bit more it would help me move on

Constructing a batch file
In the following discussion it is assumed that the Introductory page and the page on Commands have been read.
The first line in a batch file often consists of this command
@echo off
By default, a batch file will display its commands as it runs. The purpose of this first command is to turn off this display. The command "echo off" turns off the display for the whole script, except for the "echo off" command itself. The "at" sign "@" in front makes the command apply to itself as well. This nuance isn't really all that important in the context here but I mention it because it is often seen in scripts. The scripts we will discuss are very brief and omitting this line won't make any great difference. However, as a matter of good practice, we will enter it in our scripts.

Our first batch file example is going to list all the files in a folder and put the list in a new text file . We will use the directory command "dir" that is discussed on another page. Open Notepad and enter the line "@echo off" (without quotes). Next enter another line
dir "C:\Program Files" > C:\list_of_program_files.txt
(I'm assuming that your Program Files folder is on the C: drive). This will give us the two-line file
@echo off
dir "C:\Program Files" > C:\list_of_program_files.txt