[Solved] Start CMD With Inactive Window

Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.

Moderator: DosItHelp

Post Reply
Message
Author
alleypuppy
Posts: 82
Joined: 24 Apr 2011 19:20

[Solved] Start CMD With Inactive Window

#1 Post by alleypuppy » 21 Apr 2012 10:01

Hey everybody,

I want to know how to open another Command Prompt window from an existing one without the new window being placed in front of the existing window; I want it to open as an inactive window, in other words. Is there a way to do this without having to download an external program?

Thanks for the help!
Last edited by alleypuppy on 24 Apr 2012 22:56, edited 1 time in total.

!k
Expert
Posts: 378
Joined: 17 Oct 2009 08:30
Location: Russia

Re: Start CMD With Inactive Window

#2 Post by !k » 21 Apr 2012 10:59

start /b :?:

foxidrive
Expert
Posts: 6031
Joined: 10 Feb 2012 02:20

Re: Start CMD With Inactive Window

#3 Post by foxidrive » 21 Apr 2012 15:47

This will start another CMD prompt window minimised.

Code: Select all

start /min

alleypuppy
Posts: 82
Joined: 24 Apr 2011 19:20

Re: Start CMD With Inactive Window

#4 Post by alleypuppy » 21 Apr 2012 19:16

!k wrote:start /b :?:
"START /B" opens the program in the same window, which is not what I want.
foxidrive wrote:This will start another CMD prompt window minimised.

Code: Select all

start /min
I don't want the window to be minimized. The window that I want to open inactively is supposed to be a log file of sorts that comes up behind the window that the user's interacting with. I don't want the user to have to manually make the window inactive when it pops up.

Thanks for any help!

Ed Dyreen
Expert
Posts: 1569
Joined: 16 May 2011 08:21
Location: Flanders(Belgium)
Contact:

Re: Start CMD With Inactive Window

#5 Post by Ed Dyreen » 22 Apr 2012 02:50

'
An external app may do the trick

Code: Select all

cmdow.EXE "process" /INA

alleypuppy
Posts: 82
Joined: 24 Apr 2011 19:20

Re: Start CMD With Inactive Window

#6 Post by alleypuppy » 24 Apr 2012 22:56

Ed Dyreen wrote:'
An external app may do the trick

Code: Select all

cmdow.EXE "process" /INA
This works great! Thanks!

!k
Expert
Posts: 378
Joined: 17 Oct 2009 08:30
Location: Russia

Re: [Solved] Start CMD With Inactive Window

#7 Post by !k » 25 Apr 2012 07:24

alleypuppy wrote:Is there a way to do this without having to download an external program?

:mrgreen:

foxidrive
Expert
Posts: 6031
Joined: 10 Feb 2012 02:20

Re: Start CMD With Inactive Window

#8 Post by foxidrive » 25 Apr 2012 07:44

alleypuppy wrote:
foxidrive wrote:This will start another CMD prompt window minimised.

Code: Select all

start /min
The window that I want to open inactively is supposed to be a log file of sorts that comes up behind the window that the user's interacting with. I don't want the user to have to manually make the window inactive when it pops up.


Minimised also means it is inactive.

Have you considered that if a window is in the background then it has to be clicked on to bring to the foreground, on the same way that a minimised window does?


At least it will if the CMD windows are set to appear in the same position, which is how I have cmd windows set to appear.

MrKnowItAllxx
Posts: 43
Joined: 20 Mar 2012 20:53

Re: [Solved] Start CMD With Inactive Window

#9 Post by MrKnowItAllxx » 26 Apr 2012 18:11

At least it will if the CMD windows are set to appear in the same position, which is how I have cmd windows set to appear.


How would one go about changing that setting (I would like to)

foxidrive
Expert
Posts: 6031
Joined: 10 Feb 2012 02:20

Re: [Solved] Start CMD With Inactive Window

#10 Post by foxidrive » 27 Apr 2012 06:08

Right click a CMD prompt window and set the DEFAULTS. Save it and select it to to affect all future windows and you're done. You can also set the font, colour of text and size, cmd history etc etc

FWIW here is how mine is set up wrt buffers and editing options etc.

http://www.freeimagehosting.net/cm176

Post Reply