searching and changing a special value within a file

Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.

Moderator: DosItHelp

Kylie Blaze

searching and changing a special value within a file

#1 Post by Kylie Blaze » 16 Jun 2016 03:57

Hallo everybody,

one thing prerecord:
when it comes to scripting I am a totally noob! so I am asking for your patience. But of course I am trying to be as precise as possible.

the setting:
I have a program running under DOS-Box. This program is called by a batch file. After quitting this program in DOS-Box I want the batch-script to look after a certain file (which is written in hex). This file is located in the same folder as the batch-file itself. after doing so, the batch routine should dig into it and search for a concrete value. finally if that value is present, the value should be reset to "0" and another executable should be called. All these steps may happen silently (in background / no echos).

folder structure:
BATCH.bat (batch-file)
CK4PATCH.EXE (executable running in DOS-Box)
CONFIG.CK4 (hex-file containing a certain value eg. 27 10 or 4E 20)
KMOD1.pat (essential patch-file)
KMOD2.pat (variable patch-file which is called depending on the CONFIG.CK4 value)
KMOD3.pat (variable patch-file which is called depending on the CONFIG.CK4 value)

current batch-script:
here is what I came up with so far. the comments should show things which needs to be done.

Code: Select all

@echo off
CK4PATCH.EXE KMOD1.pat
goto CONFIG

:CONFIG
if exist \CONFIG.CK4 goto CHECKCONFIG
goto END

:CHECKCONFIG
:: check the CONFIG.CK4 file for the hex value 27 10
:: if found goto MOD2
:: else check CONFIG.CK4 file for the hex value 4E 20
:: if found goto MOD3
:: else goto ERROR

:MOD2
:: set the CONFIG.CK4 hex value 27 10 to 00 00
CK4PATCH.EXE KMOD2.pat
goto CONFIG

:MOD3
:: set the CONFIG.CK4 hex value 4E 20 to 00 00
CK4PATCH.EXE KMOD3.pat
goto CONFIG

:END
exit

:ERROR
echo no values found
pause
goto :END