Tracert

Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.

Moderator: DosItHelp

Sandokai86

Tracert

#1 Post by Sandokai86 » 19 Jun 2017 09:46

Hello! Its my first post up here. Please accept my apologies for my spelling errors as English is my second language (unfortunately) I have been looking at this forum all over the place but without success. I still have more questions. I am new in batch programming. I would like to "ping" my database but ping is not responsive to that so I used tracert command. My script looking as follows:

@echo off
Cls
:begin
echo %date% %time%
tracert -h 15 -w 30 my.se.rv.ip
timeout 30
goto :begin

My question is:
How to make it sound when database is offline/or any server between me and server is offline.
Or could you please direct me to some good places as Im stuck :-/
Thank you very much for response!

aGerman
Expert

Re: Tracert

#2 Post by aGerman » 19 Jun 2017 14:34

Sandokai86 wrote:My question is:
How to make it sound when database is offline/or any server between me and server is offline.

You mean that you want to get a beep if at least one path timed out?

Code: Select all

@echo off &setlocal

for /l %%i in () do ( REM infinite loop
  for /f "delims=" %%j in ('tracert -h 15 -w 30 my.se.rv.ip') do (
    echo(%%j
    for /f "tokens=2-4" %%k in ("%%j") do if "%%k%%l%%m"=="***" <nul set /p "="
  )
  timeout /t 30
  echo(
)

If a line contains 3 asterics instead of the response times a beep or ringtone (depending on your OS) will be generated by the character next to the = of the SET /P command. It's the Bell character (ASCII 07).

Steffen

Sandokai86

#3 Post by Sandokai86 » 19 Jun 2017 14:56

Hello Steffen!
Thank you for your reply! Im on windows 10 [Version 10.0.15063] 64 Bit - apologies that I haven`t mentioned on the first post.
Yes -thats what I mean. Is it any chance to setup restrictions in delay for all servers which my track going through?

aGerman
Expert

#4 Post by aGerman » 19 Jun 2017 15:10