Flags in programming

Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.

Moderator: DosItHelp

PaperTronics

Flags in programming

#1 Post by PaperTronics » 25 Jun 2017 02:39

ShadowThief wrote:2. Timeout doesn't exist in XP, and ping can be used for pauses of less than one second.

I don't think many people use XP nowadays. But then again, there are some people who do and also as you described ping allows us to pause for less than 1 sec. Thanks for correcting me.

ShadowThief wrote:. For those of you without screen readers and who don't feel like copying and pasting, that's a capital i, not a lower case L. It's also worth mentioning that flags are not case-sensitive (nor are basically anything in batch except for loop variables).

What are flags? Am I missing something in Batch? I'm still a medium Batch Programmer not an expert like you and I still lack some tiny bits of knowledge in Batch
Last edited by aGerman on 26 Jun 2017 12:48, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: split from http://www.dostips.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=7907

ShadowThief
Expert

Re: Small text game

#2 Post by ShadowThief » 25 Jun 2017 03:41

Flags and switches are the same thing. It's general programming terminology, not limited to batch. You'll also see them referred to as "options." https://unix.stackexchange.com/question ... n-argument

(This is the part where somebody else jumps in and goes "Nuh-uh! Flags take options and switches don't!" to which I'll reply "oh my God, who cares?")

aGerman
Expert

#3 Post by aGerman » 25 Jun 2017 03:58

PaperTronics wrote:What are flags?

A flag represents a boolean condition. E.g. yes or no, something is present or omitted, something is true or false, something is 1 or 0, etc. Usually program options that are not followed by a related value meet the above explanation so you may call them flags.

Code: Select all

if /i a==A ...
You may call /i a flag because its presence/absence indicates whether or not upper/lower case shall be ignored.