Locking a Folder on a USB Drive with a locker.bat File?

Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.

Moderator: DosItHelp

Post Reply
Message
Author
DiamondBlade
Posts: 1
Joined: 27 Jul 2017 12:01

Locking a Folder on a USB Drive with a locker.bat File?

#1 Post by DiamondBlade » 27 Jul 2017 14:04

Could someone please help me figure out how to use the locker.bat code to lock a specific folder ON A USB DRIVE? I have tried using the code below

Quote:
Quote: cls
@ECHO OFF
title Folder Private
if EXIST "Control Panel.{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}" goto UNLOCK
if NOT EXIST Private goto MDLOCKER
:CONFIRM
echo Are you sure you want to lock the folder(Y/N)
set/p "cho=>"
if %cho%==Y goto LOCK
if %cho%==y goto LOCK
if %cho%==n goto END
if %cho%==N goto END
echo Invalid choice.
goto CONFIRM
:LOCK
ren Private "Control Panel.{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}"
attrib +h +s "Control Panel.{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}"
echo Folder locked
goto End
:UNLOCK
echo Enter password to unlock folder
set/p "pass=>"
if NOT %pass%== [I HAVE CENSORED MY PASSWORD] goto FAIL
attrib -h -s "Control Panel.{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}"
ren "Control Panel.{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}" Private
echo Folder Unlocked successfully
goto End
:FAIL
echo Invalid password
goto end
:MDLOCKER
md Private
echo Private created successfully
goto End
:End

which is the one I use for folders loated on my PC, but it doesn't work with an external HDD or a usb drive, because its directory is not located on the PC. So when I created the locker.bat on the USB drive, it created the private folder, but would lock it. So what can I do to be able to lock a specific folder on the USB drive?
Thanks in advance,
Yotam.

ShadowThief
Expert
Posts: 1163
Joined: 06 Sep 2013 21:28
Location: Virginia, United States

Re: Locking a Folder on a USB Drive with a locker.bat File?

#2 Post by ShadowThief » 27 Jul 2017 19:29

But... you're using relative paths. As long as the script and the target "Private" folder are in the same folder, there's no reason that the script shouldn't work.

Post Reply