[solved] Hide keyboard input in a batch

Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.

Moderator: DosItHelp

Post Reply
Message
Author
mar_male
Posts: 3
Joined: 24 Feb 2008 11:52

[solved] Hide keyboard input in a batch

#1 Post by mar_male » 24 Feb 2008 12:30

Hello,
I have to write a small script which is checking password and running some program. In a script below I have something like this but during executing this batch file everybody can see this password. Is there a possible simply way to make it invisible during enetrig.
Thanks for help

@echo off & setlocal enableextensions
set /P Password=”Enter password:”
if not %Password% == tor goto :END
start cmd.exe
exit
:END
exit

Regards Maro

DosItHelp
Expert
Posts: 239
Joined: 18 Feb 2006 19:54

#2 Post by DosItHelp » 24 Feb 2008 20:15

mar_male,

The best solution dostips came up with so far is to invoke SET /P in a separate command window that uses the difficult to distinguish colors Light Green and Light Aqua for foreground and background.
The password dialog is implemented as :pwd dos function that can easily be called.
Here is a batch expample how to use it:

@ECHO OFF
call:pwd pass
if "%pass%"=="dostips" (
echo.password accepted
) else (
echo.password denied
)
GOTO:EOF

insert the :pwd function here
http://www.dostips.com/DtCodeCmdLib.php#pwd

DOS IT HELP? :wink:

mar_male
Posts: 3
Joined: 24 Feb 2008 11:52

#3 Post by mar_male » 25 Feb 2008 01:18

DosItHelp wrote:mar_male,

The best solution dostips came up with so far is to invoke SET /P in a separate command window that uses the difficult to distinguish colors ..


Thanks for fast reply.
Can You write me what is a code color for the background to be the same color as the passwords

I think i have to change "AB" value it into this line :
col set "col=AB"

DosItHelp
Expert
Posts: 239
Joined: 18 Feb 2006 19:54

#4 Post by DosItHelp » 25 Feb 2008 23:20

mar_male,
Unfortunately the color command doesn't accept foreground and background color to be the same. Light Green on Light Aqua is the closest I could find. Try another color if you like:
C:\>color /?
Sets the default console foreground and background colors.

COLOR [attr]

attr Specifies color attribute of console output

Color attributes are specified by TWO hex digits -- the first
corresponds to the background; the second the foreground. Each digit
can be any of the following values:

    0 = Black
    1 = Blue
    2 = Green
    3 = Aqua
    4 = Red
    5 = Purple
    6 = Yellow
    7 = White
    8 = Gray
    9 = Light Blue
    A = Light Green
    B = Light Aqua
    C = Light Red
    D = Light Purple
    E = Light Yellow
    F = Bright White
...
Possible combinations are:Image

:)
Last edited by DosItHelp on 07 Mar 2008 23:43, edited 1 time in total.

mar_male
Posts: 3
Joined: 24 Feb 2008 11:52

#5 Post by mar_male » 26 Feb 2008 06:39

Thanks for replay,
I found EF color. I think this will the best for me.

Regards

Maro

geomar
Posts: 1
Joined: 24 Sep 2011 10:30

Re: [solved] Hide keyboard input in a batch

#6 Post by geomar » 24 Sep 2011 10:51

the best way to do it is:

1 )open cmd
2 )click on the uper left corner
3 )click properties
4 )check the box "screen text"
5 )you should see various boxes of colors.Click the second wich is dark blue.
6 )on the right you should see a box that says "select color values".Change Red to 0 Green to 0 and Blue to 2
7 )then click ok
8 )write in cmd COLOR 01

you are done

nitt
Posts: 218
Joined: 22 Apr 2011 02:43

Re: [solved] Hide keyboard input in a batch

#7 Post by nitt » 24 Sep 2011 12:28

Okay, I made like a hidetext command in C++ in like hive seconds. All it does is set the background and foreground color to black on the current line and one.

Code: Select all

@echo off
echol "Enter your password: "
hidetext /r
set /p password=
hidetext /s
echo You typed in %password%!
pause


hidetext /r is "regular", and that changes the foreground and background of the current line to black. "hidetext /s" is "show", and it jut sets the foreground and background to the default, 07.

I also made "echol" in like 5 seconds. That just echos a string without skipping a line.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10434417/releases/hidetext.exe
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10434417/releases/echol.exe

Image

Batcher
Posts: 11
Joined: 16 Apr 2009 10:36

Re: [solved] Hide keyboard input in a batch

#8 Post by Batcher » 25 Sep 2011 04:37

Code: Select all

@echo off
set RealPwd=Batcher
>"%temp%\in.com" echo hP1X500P[PZBBBfh#b##fXf-V@`$fPf]f3/f1/5++u5x
set /p InputPwd=Enter password: <nul
for /f "tokens=*" %%a in ('"%temp%\in.com"') do (
    set "InputPwd=%%a"
)
if "%InputPwd%" equ "%RealPwd%" (
    echo Correct password.
) else (
    echo Incorrect password.
)
pause

DosItHelp
Expert
Posts: 239
Joined: 18 Feb 2006 19:54

Re: [solved] Hide keyboard input in a batch

#9 Post by DosItHelp » 25 Sep 2011 23:44

Batcher,
your solution doesn't seem to work for Win7 64bit. I get this error:
---------------------------
Unsupported 16-Bit Application
---------------------------
The program or feature "\??\C:\Users\Peter\AppData\Local\Temp\in.com" cannot start or run due to incompatibity with 64-bit versions of Windows. Please contact the software vendor to ask if a 64-bit Windows compatible version is available.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

Voodooman
Posts: 12
Joined: 25 Sep 2011 07:45

Re: [solved] Hide keyboard input in a batch

#10 Post by Voodooman » 26 Sep 2011 09:01

Sure it would not, 64bit version of Windows have NTVDM emulator removed, and this means no COM files support, as well as any 16bit windows executables.

However this could be bypassed using dosbox to launch 16 bit application, but it would be tricky, since dosbox isnt native system application like ntvdm, and have some sort of isolated sandbox to run any application inside, also dosbox doesnt run in CMD.exe and have its own console window, so im not sure if there is any way to hide it and just get 16 bit app make sdtout.

I wonder, is there any way to write and execture 32 or 64 bit com files with pure opcode without all that Win PE container trash?

nitt
Posts: 218
Joined: 22 Apr 2011 02:43

Re: [solved] Hide keyboard input in a batch

#11 Post by nitt » 26 Sep 2011 16:00

Voodooman wrote:Sure it would not, 64bit version of Windows have NTVDM emulator removed, and this means no COM files support, as well as any 16bit windows executables.

However this could be bypassed using dosbox to launch 16 bit application, but it would be tricky, since dosbox isnt native system application like ntvdm, and have some sort of isolated sandbox to run any application inside, also dosbox doesnt run in CMD.exe and have its own console window, so im not sure if there is any way to hide it and just get 16 bit app make sdtout.

I wonder, is there any way to write and execture 32 or 64 bit com files with pure opcode without all that Win PE container trash?


They didn't just remove it. >.>
64bit operating systems can't even run 16bit applications. That's why they removed tools like DEBUG, because they're 16bit.

This is not a Windows thing. Look at Ubuntu 32bit VS Ubuntu 64bit. Ubuntu used to have their own DEBUG command, but it was removed because their 64bit operating system could't run it. I also don't think this could be done with DOSBOX, but I'm not 100% sure.

I made my method in like a few seconds because it works for all Windows (who on DosTips wouldn't be using Windows?) operating systems.

Matt Williamson
Posts: 78
Joined: 30 Dec 2013 10:16
Location: United States by the big waterfall

Re: [solved] Hide keyboard input in a batch

#12 Post by Matt Williamson » 09 Apr 2014 06:36

I thought I'd update this post. A new way has been discovered to mask a password that is pure batch.

Code by MC ND on StackOverflow

Code: Select all

@echo off
    setlocal enableextensions disabledelayedexpansion

rem Call the subroutine to get the password   
    call :getPassword password

rem Echo what the function returns
    if defined password (
        echo You have typed [%password%]
    ) else (
        echo You have typed nothing
    )

rem End of the process   
    endlocal
    exit /b


rem Subroutine to get the password
:getPassword returnVar
    setlocal enableextensions disabledelayedexpansion
    set "_password="

    rem We need a backspace to handle character removal
    for /f %%a in ('"prompt;$H&for %%b in (0) do rem"') do set "BS=%%a"

    rem Prompt the user
    set /p "=password ?:" <nul

:keyLoop
    rem retrieve a keypress
    set "key="
    for /f "delims=" %%a in ('xcopy /l /w "%~f0" "%~f0" 2^>nul') do if not defined key set "key=%%a"
    set "key=%key:~-1%"

    rem handle the keypress
    rem     if No keypress (enter), then exit
    rem     if backspace, remove character from password and console
    rem     else add character to password and go ask for next one
    if defined key (
        if "%key%"=="%BS%" (
            if defined _password (
                set "_password=%_password:~0,-1%"
                setlocal enabledelayedexpansion & set /p "=!BS! !BS!"<nul & endlocal
            )
        ) else (
            set "_password=%_password%%key%"
            set /p "=*"<nul
        )
        goto :keyLoop
    )
    echo(
    rem return password to caller
    if defined _password ( set "exitCode=0" ) else ( set "exitCode=1" )
    endlocal & set "%~1=%_password%" & exit /b %exitCode%

foxidrive
Expert
Posts: 6033
Joined: 10 Feb 2012 02:20

Re: [solved] Hide keyboard input in a batch

#13 Post by foxidrive » 09 Apr 2014 08:32

That's useful - it may be modeled on this one which I had filed away.


Code: Select all

::!CARLOS_HIDE_INPUT.BAT
::Code by Carlos on AMBNT 2013-03-10
::Subject: Getkey without Display the input.
::Thread started by jeb
::Note: My edits/additions are not indented 3 spaces


   :::::::::::::BEGIN OF CODE:::::::::::::   
   @Echo Off   
   :HInput
   ::Version 3.0     
   SetLocal DisableDelayedExpansion
Echo Enter your password below:
   Set "Line="
   Rem Save 0x08 character in BS variable
   For /F %%# In (
   '"Prompt;$H&For %%# in (1) Do Rem"'
   ) Do Set "BS=%%#"
   
   :HILoop
   Set "Key="
   For /F "delims=" %%# In (
   'Xcopy /L /W "%~f0" "%~f0" 2^>Nul'
   ) Do If Not Defined Key Set "Key=%%#"
   Set "Key=%Key:~-1%"
   SetLocal EnableDelayedExpansion
   If Not Defined Key Goto :HIEnd
   If %BS%==^%Key% (Set /P "=%BS% %BS%" <Nul
   Set "Key="
   If Defined Line Set "Line=!Line:~0,-1!"
   ) Else Set /P "=*" <Nul
   If Not Defined Line (EndLocal &Set "Line=%Key%"
   ) Else For /F delims^=^ eol^= %%# In (
   "!Line!") Do EndLocal &Set "Line=%%#%Key%"
   Goto :HILoop
   
   :HIEnd
   Echo(
Echo Your password is '!Line!'
   Pause
   Goto :Eof
   
   ::::::::::::::END OF CODE::::::::::::::

Squashman
Expert
Posts: 4195
Joined: 23 Dec 2011 13:59

Re: [solved] Hide keyboard input in a batch

#14 Post by Squashman » 09 Apr 2014 09:23

Here is the other recent thread.
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4664

Post Reply