String variable substitution

Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.

Moderator: DosItHelp

Post Reply
Message
Author
duke
Posts: 4
Joined: 17 Jul 2008 04:16

String variable substitution

#1 Post by duke » 17 Jul 2008 04:33

Hi,

I hope someone can help

I am trying to use the Environment variable substitution method

%PATH:str1=%

this will take the string in the path variable search for "str1" and remove it.
what i need to do is remove a specific string stored in the variable in my example as nextcommand.

i have tried several combinations but using the above example i dont think you can substitute a string variable in place of str1

can someone help. below is the code i am trying to fix

Code: Select all

@echo off
set output=%*
set nextcommand=%1 %2 %3 %4 %5 %6 %7
echo %nextcommand%

set refoutput=%output:%nextcommand=%
echo %refoutput%


What i am trying to do is take a list args from a batch script and take pieces of the batch args in different combination to run other programs. If someone can think of a better way, please advise

May thanks

greenfinch
Posts: 36
Joined: 17 Jul 2008 07:37

#2 Post by greenfinch » 17 Jul 2008 07:47

Hi duke,

Don't know if this helps - it runs through all parameters passed to a batch and if any match certain values, does something else. Here it calls another subroutine, but it might just be setting a new variable, then you use that later on.

Code: Select all

FOR %%a in (%*) do (call :procparams %%a)
GOTO next

:procparams
if %1==something (call :something)
if %1==something2 (call :something2)
if %1==something2 (call :something2)
GOTO:EOF

:next

duke
Posts: 4
Joined: 17 Jul 2008 04:16

#3 Post by duke » 17 Jul 2008 08:56

Hi Greenfinch,

I have tried something similar Rather than take a substring of %* i tried to build my string using a shift and label to make a loop, but unfortunatly its doesnt work correctly. I seem to face a different problem

I loop through the args adding the argument i require to a string but i am so of my arguments have quotes ie
example.bat arg1 (%0) arg2(%1) agr3(%2) "arg4" (%3)

now if i add %2 and %3

set "command=%2% %3%

that does not work and i get unexpected error.

greenfinch
Posts: 36
Joined: 17 Jul 2008 07:37

#4 Post by greenfinch » 17 Jul 2008 09:45

Sorry I'm a bit confused.

If I name that script in your first post 'refoutput.cmd', what do you want to get from:

Code: Select all

refoutput arg1 arg2 arg3 arg4

duke
Posts: 4
Joined: 17 Jul 2008 04:16

#5 Post by duke » 17 Jul 2008 10:09

it should take list of args as many as required for example 15

make a string talking all the args (set output=%*)

make a string taking the first 7 args (set nextcommand=%1 %2 %3 %4 %5 %6 %7)

remove the first 7 arguments from the full set of arguments (set refoutput=%output:%nextcommand=%)

output the reminder of the arguments echo %refoutput%

greenfinch
Posts: 36
Joined: 17 Jul 2008 07:37

#6 Post by greenfinch » 17 Jul 2008 10:15

Got it. I had wanted to something like this a few weeks ago, and only just worked it out now - so thank you!

Code: Select all

setlocal ENABLEDELAYEDEXPANSION 

set output=%*
set nextcommand=%1 %2
set refoutput=!output:%nextcommand% =!
echo %refoutput%

duke
Posts: 4
Joined: 17 Jul 2008 04:16

#7 Post by duke » 17 Jul 2008 10:36

Mr greenfinch you are a star!!
I am greatly in your debt!!
That works perfectly!

could you please explain what the
setlocal ENABLEDELAYEDEXPANSION
and the ! ! marks do.i have not come across this before

once again your help is greatly appreciated

greenfinch
Posts: 36
Joined: 17 Jul 2008 07:37

#8 Post by greenfinch » 17 Jul 2008 10:55

This explains it quite well:

http://batcheero.blogspot.com/2007/06/h ... nsion.html

Instead of % you use ! to indicate a variable but these are only recognised if you use setlocal ENABLEDELAYEDEXPANSION

In the case of

Code: Select all

set refoutput=!output:%nextcommand% =!


it delays the expansion of !output! until it's expanded %nextcommand%

The space before the =! is just cos there's a space left over after you remove arg1 arg2 etc.

Glad to help,
GF

Post Reply