Page 8 of 8

Re: SNAKE.BAT 4.0 - An arcade style game using pure batch

Posted: 07 Sep 2018 23:12
by akem8
"ERROR: Playfield area too large
"quit" is an internal or external command, a program that can be executed, or
This is not a batch file."

help me
how to fix it?

Re: SNAKE.BAT 4.0 - An arcade style game using pure batch

Posted: 08 Sep 2018 07:25
by dbenham
akem8 wrote:
07 Sep 2018 23:12
"ERROR: Playfield area too large
"quit" is an internal or external command, a program that can be executed, or
This is not a batch file."

help me
how to fix it?
The error message indicates that you are trying to run the game with play field dimensions that exceed the capabilities of the game. The only way to get that error message is if the SNAKE.BAT script has been modified, or if the user preferences in "%USERPROFILE%\Snake\SnakeUserPref.txt" have been manually edited. If it is the latter, then you can simply delete the user preferences file and re-run the game, and all should be fine. If that doesn't solve the problem, then you need to get a fresh, unadulterated copy of the game, available in the first post of this thread.

When you do run the game with dimensions that are too large, the game is supposed to give the "ERROR: Playfield area too large" error message and exit cleanly. The routine that produces that error is called :resize, and the error handling is dependent on a %sendcmd% macro. Currently there is a silly bug in that the %sendcmd% macro has not yet been defined when the :resize routine is first called during initialization. So if the play field too large error arises, the game hangs after giving the error message.

I will post a bug fix in the near future. But until then, the bug should not affect you (or anyone) unless you try to improperly customize the game yourself by editing the script or the user preference file.


Dave Benham

Re: SNAKE.BAT 4.1 - An arcade style game using pure batch

Posted: 08 Sep 2018 15:11
by dbenham
I've posted version 4.1 with the bug fix to properly handle "Playfield too large" error in the first post of this thread.