command prompt in windows 10

Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.

Moderator: DosItHelp

Message
Author

Squashman
Expert
Posts: 4106
Joined: 23 Dec 2011 13:59

Re: command prompt in windows 10

#2 Post by Squashman » 30 Sep 2014 19:11

Well I always have Quick Edit and Insert Mode activated so I never have to chose the MARK option.

foxidrive
Expert
Posts: 6033
Joined: 10 Feb 2012 02:20

Re: command prompt in windows 10

#3 Post by foxidrive » 30 Sep 2014 20:13

Squashman wrote:Well I always have Quick Edit and Insert Mode activated so I never have to chose the MARK option.


ditto. Mucho easier.

Also huge is the command window’s new ability to re-flow text as the window is resized, rather than simply growing a horizontal scrollbar. As with the other features listed above, this is something that other operating systems have had in their text shells for ages, and it will be a wonderfully welcome feature when it arrives.


This is interesting.


I also reckon Microsoft should include repl and findrepl and other batch files by those blokes. :)

It will be interesting to see if any other commands are added for stuff that is FAQ material

ShadowThief
Expert
Posts: 892
Joined: 06 Sep 2013 21:28
Location: Virginia, United States

Re: command prompt in windows 10

#4 Post by ShadowThief » 01 Oct 2014 06:37

I don't know about you guys, but I'm excited to finally be able to CTRL+V into a cmd prompt to paste.

foxidrive
Expert
Posts: 6033
Joined: 10 Feb 2012 02:20

Re: command prompt in windows 10

#5 Post by foxidrive » 01 Oct 2014 08:10

ShadowThief wrote:I don't know about you guys, but I'm excited to finally be able to CTRL+V into a cmd prompt to paste.


I can do that in Windows 8.1 and I think in previous Windows.

It's a function of my clipboard manager called Ditto http://sourceforge.net/projects/ditto-c ... =directory
I didn't realise that Windows can't do it natively.

npocmaka_
Posts: 481
Joined: 24 Jun 2013 17:10
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: command prompt in windows 10

#6 Post by npocmaka_ » 25 Jan 2015 11:27

Does anybody succeeded with installing windows 10 technical preview?
My BIOS does not support CPU visualization (required for windows 10) and I cant create a VirtualBox image and I'm curious if some well known hacks still works there - e.g. Liviu's "%~f0?.wsf" trick, does it still have jscript.net compiler and etc.

Samir
Posts: 345
Joined: 16 Jul 2013 12:00
Location: HSV
Contact:

Re: command prompt in windows 10

#7 Post by Samir » 02 Feb 2015 11:26

It doesn't surprise me that it's there in win10 (Whatever happened to the years for windows versions again? lol!). Many people have lots of batch files running all the time, many for several, several years.

To me, batch is one of the most powerful things about computers. And batch is so utterly reliable.

foxidrive
Expert
Posts: 6033
Joined: 10 Feb 2012 02:20

Re: command prompt in windows 10

#8 Post by foxidrive » 02 Feb 2015 16:33

npocmaka_ wrote:Does anybody succeeded with installing windows 10 technical preview?


I haven't tried it here either.

Compo
Posts: 487
Joined: 21 Mar 2014 08:50

Re: command prompt in windows 10

#9 Post by Compo » 02 Feb 2015 17:34

npocmaka_ wrote:Does anybody succeeded with installing windows 10 technical preview?
My BIOS does not support CPU visualization (required for windows 10) and I cant create a VirtualBox image and I'm curious if some well known hacks still works there - e.g. Liviu's "%~f0?.wsf" trick, does it still have jscript.net compiler and etc.

Yes I use the wsf trick often and can confirm it to work on all versions of Windows 10 (Technical Preview) so far.

npocmaka_
Posts: 481
Joined: 24 Jun 2013 17:10
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: command prompt in windows 10

#10 Post by npocmaka_ » 02 Feb 2015 17:40

Compo wrote:
npocmaka_ wrote:Does anybody succeeded with installing windows 10 technical preview?
My BIOS does not support CPU visualization (required for windows 10) and I cant create a VirtualBox image and I'm curious if some well known hacks still works there - e.g. Liviu's "%~f0?.wsf" trick, does it still have jscript.net compiler and etc.

Yes I use the wsf trick often and can confirm it to work on all versions of Windows 10 (Technical Preview) so far.


thanks for the info :)

what about the jscript.net compiler?should be located in "%SystemRoot%\Microsoft.NET\Framework\" .Some versions of .NET come without jscript and I wonder if the default in win10 has it.

Compo
Posts: 487
Joined: 21 Mar 2014 08:50

Re: command prompt in windows 10

#11 Post by Compo » 03 Feb 2015 00:00

The command line compiler, jsc.exe, is available in the v4.0.30319 directory within both Framework and Framework64.

npocmaka_
Posts: 481
Joined: 24 Jun 2013 17:10
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: command prompt in windows 10

#12 Post by npocmaka_ » 03 Feb 2015 00:31

Compo wrote:The command line compiler, jsc.exe, is available in the v4.0.30319 directory within both Framework and Framework64.

thanks again.

npocmaka_
Posts: 481
Joined: 24 Jun 2013 17:10
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: command prompt in windows 10

#13 Post by npocmaka_ » 29 Jul 2015 04:07

Just installed it ,
and this what I've saw at a glance.

telnet has a new command line switch : -f for log file

most of the breakers here are fixed - http://ss64.org/viewtopic.php?pid=8473#p8473
as MS attention has been brought there with this http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2328 ... r-exploits

though this still 'works':

Code: Select all

break | for %%A in () do echo %%A




I've noticed only one new command:

C:\WINDOWS\system32>clipup
clipup Usage:
-?/-h This help menu
-p Attempts to migrate data from the legacy Windows Phone database
-s Attempts to migrate data from the legacy Windows Store database
-altts [path] Optional alternative Windows Store database folder location
-o Attempts to migrate data from Windows Genuine Authorization blob
-altto [path] Optional alternative Windows Genuine Authorization blob folder location
-pfm [package family name] Optional package family name to look for a migratable license
-l [path] Optional folder of legacy Windows Store licenses
-v Enables optional verbose logging
[path] Optional alternative output location for migrated data
Done.


these are the changed/new files in system32:

Code: Select all

ActiveSyncProvider.dll 
actxprxy.dll
admwprox.dll
ahadmin.dll
AppContracts.dll
AppxAllUserStore.dll
AppXDeploymentExtensions.dll
AppXDeploymentServer.dll
atmfd.dll
atmlib.dll
AudioEndpointBuilder.dll
AudioEng.dll
AudioSes.dll
audiosrv.dll
bcd.dll
BingMaps.dll
BootMenuUX.dll
Chakra.dll
ci.dll
ClipSVC.dll
cloudAP.dll
comdlg32.dll
ConhostV2.dll
ConsoleLogon.dll
ContactApis.dll
CoreMessaging.dll
CoreUIComponents.dll
CredProvDataModel.dll
d3d9.dll
DevicesFlowBroker.dll
diagtrack.dll
diagtrack_win.dll
diagtrack_wininternal.dll
DisplayManager.dll
dosvc.dll
dwmapi.dll
dwmcore.dll
DWrite.dll
dxgi.dll
edgehtml.dll
EditionUpgradeManagerObj.dll
efscore.dll
EnterpriseModernAppMgmtCSP.dll
ExplorerFrame.dll
FntCache.dll
gdi32.dll
hal.dll
hmkd.dll
ieframe.dll
ieproxy.dll
iertutil.dll
igfxCoIn_v4229.dll
iisrstap.dll
iisRtl.dll
InputService.dll
jscript9.dll
LicenseManager.dll
LicenseManagerApi.dll
LockAppBroker.dll
LogonController.dll
lsasrv.dll
MapConfiguration.dll
MapControlCore.dll
MapsStore.dll
MbaeApi.dll
MBMediaManager.dll
MCRecvSrc.dll
MessagingDataModel2.dll
mfcore.dll
MFMediaEngine.dll
mfmpeg2srcsnk.dll
mfplat.dll
mfps.dll
mfsvr.dll
modernexecserver.dll
mos.dll
mqcertui.dll
mqlogmgr.dll
mqoa.dll
mqqm.dll
mqrt.dll
mqsnap.dll
mqutil.dll
MrmCoreR.dll
msftedit.dll
mshtml.dll
msi.dll
mssprxy.dll
mssrch.dll
MusUpdateHandlers.dll
ncsi.dll
NetworkMobileSettings.dll
NotificationController.dll
NotificationControllerPS.dll
ntdll.dll
ntshrui.dll
OmaDmAgent.dll
provengine.dll
provhandlers.dll
provisioningcsp.dll
PsmServiceExtHost.dll
psmsrv.dll
RDXService.dll
ReAgent.dll
ReInfo.dll
reseteng.dll
SearchFolder.dll
sendmail.dll
SensorsApi.dll
SensorService.dll
setbcdlocale.dll
SettingsHandlers_Notifications.dll
SettingsHandlers_nt.dll
SettingsHandlers_Privacy.dll
SettingsHandlers_SignInOptions.dll
SettingsHandlers_UserAccount.dll
SharedStartModel.dll
SharedStartModelShim.dll
shell32.dll
shutdownux.dll
spbcd.dll
sppcomapi.dll
SqlServerSpatial110.dll
srumsvc.dll
stobject.dll
storewuauth.dll
SubscriptionMgr.dll
systemcpl.dll
TabSvc.dll
tetheringservice.dll
tileobjserver.dll
twinapi.appcore.dll
twinui.appcore.dll
twinui.dll
UIAutomationCore.dll
UIRibbon.dll
UIRibbonRes.dll
unenrollhook.dll
Unistore.dll
updatehandlers.dll
urlmon.dll
UserDataService.dll
usocore.dll
uxtheme.dll
VEEventDispatcher.dll
VEStoreEventHandlers.dll
vncmirror.dll
wamregps.dll
wcmcsp.dll
wcmsvc.dll
wer.dll
wifinetworkmanager.dll
wimgapi.dll
Windows.ApplicationModel.Store.dll
Windows.ApplicationModel.Store.TestingFramework.dll
Windows.Cortana.Desktop.dll
Windows.Cortana.OneCore.dll
Windows.Cortana.PAL.Desktop.dll
Windows.Cortana.ProxyStub.dll
Windows.Devices.Bluetooth.dll
Windows.Devices.Sensors.dll
Windows.Internal.Bluetooth.dll
Windows.Internal.Shell.Broker.dll
Windows.Media.dll
Windows.Media.Editing.dll
Windows.Media.Import.dll
Windows.Media.Speech.dll
Windows.Networking.Connectivity.dll
windows.storage.dll
Windows.UI.BioFeedback.dll
Windows.UI.BlockedShutdown.dll
Windows.UI.Cred.dll
Windows.UI.Immersive.dll
Windows.UI.Logon.dll
Windows.UI.Search.dll
Windows.UI.Shell.dll
Windows.UI.Xaml.dll
winhttp.dll
wininet.dll
winmde.dll
wintrust.dll
wmp.dll
wmpmde.dll
wpccpl.dll
wpncore.dll
wuapi.dll
wuaueng.dll
wuuhext.dll
wwansvc.dll
bcastdvr.exe
bcdboot.exe
bcdedit.exe
calc.exe
ClipUp.exe
fontdrvhost.exe
GamePanel.exe
iisreset.exe
InstallAgent.exe
LockAppHost.exe
mqbkup.exe
mqsvc.exe
msiexec.exe
MusNotification.exe
ntoskrnl.exe
omadmclient.exe
omadmprc.exe
RecoveryDrive.exe
SearchIndexer.exe
SensorDataService.exe
telnet.exe
wimserv.exe
wininit.exe
winload.exe
winlogon.exe
winresume.exe
WWAHost.exe
Last edited by npocmaka_ on 29 Jul 2015 05:12, edited 1 time in total.

Meerkat
Posts: 81
Joined: 19 Jul 2015 02:27
Location: Philippines

Re: command prompt in windows 10

#14 Post by Meerkat » 29 Jul 2015 04:22

Interesting! CMD is still there and has new features!

Hmm... Just a question (hoping) :?

Is there a WHILE-like command?

npocmaka_
Posts: 481
Joined: 24 Jun 2013 17:10
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: command prompt in windows 10

#15 Post by npocmaka_ » 29 Jul 2015 04:29

Meerkat wrote:Interesting! CMD is still there and has new features!

Hmm... Just a question (hoping) :?

Is there a WHILE-like command?


no...

I think here was a thread by Aacini with while emulation.

Post Reply