CmdBkg - use bitmap as background to console window

Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.

Moderator: DosItHelp

Message
Author
misol101
Posts: 377
Joined: 02 May 2016 18:20

Re: CmdBkg - use bitmap as background to console window

#31 Post by misol101 » 19 Sep 2016 18:55

penpen wrote:But you really have to change the user (logout process must have been started) to have a chance to see this issue;
i'm a bit unsure because i don't get it how you mean this exactly:
misol101 wrote:(I didn't actually change user, just returned back to the one I had)...


One could count the fails in row to be sure there is no serious other problem (hung cmd.exe, ...) on which you may (or may not) want to exit cmdbkg.


Thorough as usual, nice!

I did not change to another user, I just chose "Change user" from the Start menu and then from the login screen I logged in the same user again. So I don't think I met the criteras for the issue you describe.

Possibly counting could be used but first let's see if Compo's problem returns or not :)

Compo
Posts: 487
Joined: 21 Mar 2014 08:50

Re: CmdBkg - use bitmap as background to console window

#32 Post by Compo » 20 Sep 2016 02:33

penpen wrote:@compo:
Are you sure your pc woke up from sleeping, or could it be, that your PC used hibernation instead?
When a pc exits hibernation then applications/functions (BitBlt) may try to access memory pages that aren't currently loaded,
which i suspects is the cause of the above issue.
(This would also explain, why tests with sleep mode couldn't reproduce this issue.)

Does this help?

Code: Select all

C:\Users\Compo>powercfg -a
The following sleep states are available on this system: Standby ( S1 S3 )
The following sleep states are not available on this system:
Standby (S2)
        The system firmware does not support this standby state.
Hibernate
        Hibernation has not been enabled.
Hybrid Sleep

penpen
Expert
Posts: 1697
Joined: 23 Jun 2013 06:15
Location: Germany

Re: CmdBkg - use bitmap as background to console window

#33 Post by penpen » 20 Sep 2016 07:09

Yes, that helps indeed:
My suspicion was wrong - both modes S1 (CPU stopped) and S3 (suspend to RAM) won't power down the RAM.
(Then (currently) i have no other idea, what could have happened in your above case.)


penpen

Compo
Posts: 487
Joined: 21 Mar 2014 08:50

Re: CmdBkg - use bitmap as background to console window

#34 Post by Compo » 21 Sep 2016 07:11

It's happened again!

This time it is giving me a plain white background instead of the transparency only that I received on my first report. (I managed to catch it on it's own during the restore from minimized process)
Additionally there was a little strangeness in the position of the cmd cursor although typing placed the command in the correct location.

Please see both images

The sleep was only for a few hours this time which was nothing new. My only other guess is perhaps it has something to do with the length of time from invokation.

Code: Select all

Caption=cmd.exe
CommandLine="C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe" /K "Start "" "C:\Users\Compo\cmdbkg" "C:\Users\Compo\prompt.bmp" 25"
CreationClassName=Win32_Process
CreationDate=20160920091746.699911+060
CSCreationClassName=Win32_ComputerSystem
CSName=PHENOMII-X4-955
Description=cmd.exe
ExecutablePath=C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe
ExecutionState=
Handle=4732
HandleCount=21
InstallDate=
KernelModeTime=156001
MaximumWorkingSetSize=1380
MinimumWorkingSetSize=200
Name=cmd.exe
OSCreationClassName=Win32_OperatingSystem
OSName=Microsoft Windows 7 Professional |C:\Windows|\Device\Harddisk0\Partition2
OtherOperationCount=92
OtherTransferCount=1192
PageFaults=782
PageFileUsage=2168
ParentProcessId=1828
PeakPageFileUsage=2168
PeakVirtualSize=39956480
PeakWorkingSetSize=3036
Priority=8
PrivatePageCount=2220032
ProcessId=4732
QuotaNonPagedPoolUsage=5
QuotaPagedPoolUsage=78
QuotaPeakNonPagedPoolUsage=5
QuotaPeakPagedPoolUsage=78
ReadOperationCount=2
ReadTransferCount=64
SessionId=1
Status=
TerminationDate=
ThreadCount=1
UserModeTime=0
VirtualSize=39956480
WindowsVersion=6.1.7601
WorkingSetSize=3108864
WriteOperationCount=0
WriteTransferCount=0

misol101
Posts: 377
Joined: 02 May 2016 18:20

Re: CmdBkg - use bitmap as background to console window

#35 Post by misol101 » 21 Sep 2016 11:43

Well, damn... So this is while running the latest version I assume?

I guess we need a version with some debug printing.

Not sure I understand the "plain white background", you mean the console window has a plain white bacjground? Did you set the background to white before with the color command or similar?

Compo
Posts: 487
Joined: 21 Mar 2014 08:50

Re: CmdBkg - use bitmap as background to console window

#36 Post by Compo » 21 Sep 2016 11:52

No, the prompt.bmp I was using as my background image is showing as a completely white image.

The console window is stil showing with the set transparency (it just has the random issue of the cursor position showing in the wrong place after restore and before next use).

misol101
Posts: 377
Joined: 02 May 2016 18:20

Re: CmdBkg - use bitmap as background to console window

#37 Post by misol101 » 21 Sep 2016 12:19

If the background window is still showing I assume cmdbkg.exe is still running? And it has stopped moving (plus has no image)?

craftdium
Posts: 4
Joined: 02 Aug 2019 10:44

Re: CmdBkg - use bitmap as background to console window

#38 Post by craftdium » 08 Aug 2019 13:10

does it work with windows10 now ?

misol101
Posts: 377
Joined: 02 May 2016 18:20

Re: CmdBkg - use bitmap as background to console window

#39 Post by misol101 » 09 Aug 2019 02:24

I thought it was working with Windows 10 but maybe not? I am not able to check it where I am, since I am abroad

penpen
Expert
Posts: 1697
Joined: 23 Jun 2013 06:15
Location: Germany

Re: CmdBkg - use bitmap as background to console window

#40 Post by penpen » 09 Aug 2019 15:39

Your tool "cmdbkg.exe" does work under my Win 10, 64 bit, but i only have version 10.0.17134.885 installed...
(The Wiindows Updater wants me to update my non existing "Intel RST" driver, which the intel driver rejects to install with "Platform not supported.").


penpen

misol101
Posts: 377
Joined: 02 May 2016 18:20

Re: CmdBkg - use bitmap as background to console window

#41 Post by misol101 » 13 Aug 2019 11:36

Tested now and works here. I actually have exactly the same Win10 64-bit version as penpen.

craftdium: If it is not working for you, please post the details of your Win10 (version, 32 or 64 bit etc)

aGerman
Expert
Posts: 3643
Joined: 22 Jan 2010 18:01
Location: Germany

Re: CmdBkg - use bitmap as background to console window

#42 Post by aGerman » 13 Aug 2019 12:32

Works for me on Win10 Home x64 version 1903 (10.0.18362.267).
I guess people either try to run cmdbkg.exe via double click or they don't use the START command in a batch code.

Steffen

Post Reply