How to measure total and free environment space? (XP SP3)

Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.

Moderator: DosItHelp

Post Reply
Message
Author
MicrosoftIsKillingMe
Posts: 55
Joined: 11 Dec 2017 09:08

How to measure total and free environment space? (XP SP3)

#1 Post by MicrosoftIsKillingMe » 22 Dec 2017 02:24

101 question follows. Some of you superheros can can save your time and skip this because it's kid's stuff.

My setup: on XP I use a LNK (not PIF) to cmd.exe which kicks off ntvdm.exe. (By the way the window and LNK Properties do not have a Memory tab; the properties with a window opened by a PIF DOES have that tab.) The LNK target does not do /E; system32\config.nt does not do /E on SHELL; COMSPEC has no /E; system.ini does not have CommandEnvSize. c:\autoexec.bat and config.sys are 0 bytes. And grr, I can't find the answer in Control Panel/system (or administrative tools). So, I'm embarrassed to say, I'm not sure where I'm setting it, or how big it is :redface:

Is below one correct way to see how much is unused/available, by running MEM /PROGRAM ? Partial results:

Code: Select all

addr   name    size   type
004C40 COMMAND 0004F0 Environment
005140 MEM     000430 Environment
005580 MEM     0174E0 Program
4F0h = 1264 (BTW 5140h minus 4C40h is 1280. 16 overhead?)
430h = 1072 (BTW 5580h minus 5140h is 1088)

So am I using 1072 of 1264? (I was under the belief that only the "used" space is propagated to programs?)

BTW on MEM /C the largest executable is 1200 bytes less than "Total FREE" there. Coincidence?

Sorry to ask such a 101 question but I just can't remember since I last set up XP 15 years ago. I did spend a very large amount of search time before giving up and asking.

Bonus: is config.nt SHELL where I should modify it?

SIMMS7400
Posts: 544
Joined: 07 Jan 2016 07:47

Re: How to measure total and free environment space? (XP SP3)

#2 Post by SIMMS7400 » 22 Dec 2017 06:20

Hi There -

Every week I send out a report of this information. My script is as follows - adjust as necessary:

Code: Select all

echo ********************************************************>>%logfile%
echo Check Diskspace on %COMPUTERNAME%                       >>%logfile%
echo ********************************************************>>%logfile%

SETLOCAL ENABLEDELAYEDEXPANSION

SET EXT=.peloton.lan 

SET "volume=C:"
FOR /f "tokens=1*delims=:" %%i IN ('fsutil volume diskfree %volume%') DO (
    SET "diskfree=!disktotal!"
    SET "disktotal=!diskavail!"
    SET "diskavail=%%j"
)
FOR /f "tokens=1,2" %%i IN ("%disktotal% %diskavail%") DO SET "disktotal=%%i"& SET "diskavail=%%j"

::-- Prepare SRVR_STATS.txt File --::

IF EXIST "%CD%\%COMPUTERNAME%_INFO.txt" DEL "%CD%\%COMPUTERNAME%_INFO.txt"

>>"%CD%\%COMPUTERNAME%_INFO.txt" (

ECHO *******************************************
ECHO **** I N F A S T R U C T U R E   U S E ****
ECHO -------------------------------------------
ECHO.

ECHO *******************************************
ECHO Computer : %COMPUTERNAME%%EXT% 
ECHO -------------------------------------------
ECHO.
ECHO Statistics for Drive %volume%\
ECHO.
ECHO Total Diskspace   : %disktotal:~0,-9% GB
ECHO Total Diskspace   : %disktotal:~0,-6% MB
ECHO.
ECHO Avail. Disk Space : %diskavail:~0,-9% GB
ECHO Avail. Disk Space : %diskavail:~0,-6% MB
ECHO -------------------------------------------
ECHO.
ECHO *******************************************
ECHO Files over 1 gigabyte displayed below:
ECHO -------------------------------------------
ECHO.
)
ENDLOCAL DISABLEDELAYEDEXPANSION

::-- Convert Bytes to Gigsbytes ^& and spool to output file --::

FOR /F "tokens=1,2*" %%A IN (
  'robocopy c:\ c:\ /l /s /is /njh /njs /ndl /nc /min:1073741824 /xj'
  ) DO (
	ECHO %%C\File Size ^= %%A GB >> "%CD%\%COMPUTERNAME%_INFO.txt"
)

miskox
Posts: 555
Joined: 28 Jun 2010 03:46

Re: How to measure total and free environment space? (XP SP3)

#3 Post by miskox » 22 Dec 2017 07:47

Correct the typo:

Code: Select all

ECHO **** I N F A S T R U C T U R E   U S E ****
Inf R astructure.

Saso

Aacini
Expert
Posts: 1885
Joined: 06 Dec 2011 22:15
Location: México City, México
Contact:

Re: How to measure total and free environment space? (XP SP3)

#4 Post by Aacini » 22 Dec 2017 11:14

Although not exactly what you asked for, perhaps you may be interested in this thread.

Antonio

MicrosoftIsKillingMe
Posts: 55
Joined: 11 Dec 2017 09:08

Re: How to measure total and free environment space? (XP SP3)

#5 Post by MicrosoftIsKillingMe » 22 Dec 2017 13:49

Thank you very much Aacini, though I'm unsure if that will get me there. Jeez, I find it hard to believe that env size info is not provided without having to run something. Even just having to check file contents (like config.nt) feels like too much work (for some; I don't mind it myself), because I would think that SOMEWHERE there's a GUI display of total environment size, if not also total amount currently used. (Well, the properties on a PIF file show starting env size, but I don't even use a PIF file anymore to open DOS) (or do I? When I run the LNK does it utilize the PIF in the same directory?)

MicrosoftIsKillingMe
Posts: 55
Joined: 11 Dec 2017 09:08

Re: How to measure total and free environment space? (XP SP3)

#6 Post by MicrosoftIsKillingMe » 22 Dec 2017 14:04

Pretty elaborate stuff there! I need to try your File Manager. I'm hanging on to Elftree on the XP (which is incredible but only with 8+3); I haven't figure what to use for 7/8/10 - explorer and folder windows are so ridiculously lame. "Folder size" 3rd party tool looks interesting.

Post Reply