Script Uninstall via MSIEXEC by ProductCode

Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.

Moderator: DosItHelp

Post Reply
Message
Author
leostor
Posts: 1
Joined: 04 Dec 2018 08:46

Script Uninstall via MSIEXEC by ProductCode

#1 Post by leostor » 04 Dec 2018 08:47

0
down vote
favorite
need to create a script for uninstall a specific windows program via MSIEXEC with a specific Product code;

I can get the product code in this way:

wmic product where name="Program xxx" get IdentifyingNumber

and result is:

IdentifyingNumber {XXXXXXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXXXXXXXX}

once I have found the identify number, I will uninstall it this way:

MSIEXEC /x {XXXXXXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXXXXXXXX} /qb REBOOT="ReallySuppress" PASSWORD=password123

how can I create a script to automate the process by putting the parameter from the wmi query in the msiexec uninstall command?

THANKS A LOT

aGerman
Expert
Posts: 3413
Joined: 22 Jan 2010 18:01
Location: Germany

Re: Script Uninstall via MSIEXEC by ProductCode

#2 Post by aGerman » 04 Dec 2018 12:44

Try that:

Code: Select all

@echo off &setlocal
for /f "delims=" %%i in ('2^>nul wmic product where "name='ASUS GiftBox Serviceq'" get IdentifyingNumber /value') do for /f "tokens=2 delims==" %%j in ("%%i") do (
  MSIEXEC /x %%j /qb REBOOT="ReallySuppress" PASSWORD=password123
)
Unlike your crossposting which is tagged as Javascript …
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/536 ... roductcode
… the code above is Windows Batch.

Steffen

Earara
Posts: 1
Joined: 30 Nov 2018 09:58
Location: Clifton

Re: Script Uninstall via MSIEXEC by ProductCode

#3 Post by Earara » 07 Dec 2018 04:02

aGerman wrote:
04 Dec 2018 12:44
Try that:

Code: Select all

@echo off &setlocal
for /f "delims=" %%i in ('2^>nul wmic product where "name='ASUS GiftBox Serviceq'" get IdentifyingNumber /value') do for /f "tokens=2 delims==" %%j in ("%%i") do (
  MSIEXEC /x %%j /qb REBOOT="ReallySuppress" PASSWORD=password123
)
Unlike your crossposting which is tagged as Javascript …
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/536 ... roductcode
… the code above is Windows Batch.

Steffen
Thanks for this help! I had the same issue!

Post Reply