VT100 escape sequences not working in Windows 10?

Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.

Moderator: DosItHelp

ludwig

VT100 escape sequences not working in Windows 10?

#1 Post by ludwig » 25 Aug 2019 11:02

I have an issue where I'm processing a bunch of files in a directory with the command line program ffprobe (part of ffmpeg). The directories will have video clips and ffprobe is run on each to see if certain conditions are met and then carry out ffmpeg modifications depending on those conditions. I've been using a batch file for several years to accomplish this, but I've always wanted to spruce it up a bit so I could share it with others.

Part of what I want to do is go through the list of files in a directory and show those file names on one line (not consecutive lines flowing down the screen) to show the user that they are being processed. I also don't mean file names written one after the other across the screen. I mean, for example, everything stays on the top line, starts writing from the far left and never moves down the screen. Each file name occupies the spot where the previous file name was output. I started out using the following to do that:

Code: Select all

for %%a in ("*.*") do set filename=%%a

for /f %%h in ('copy "%~f0" nul /z') do set "CR=%%h"
set /p ".=!filename! !CR!" < nul
The problem with this is that the file names on the screen aren't deleted when the next file name is written to the screen, it is actually written over the character space that the previous file name occupied and if the first file name has more characters than the next then those "extra" characters remain on the screen when the next file name outputs. An example would be if a long file name, let's say longfilename.txt appears first on the screen and the next file is short.txt then what you see on the screen is:

short.txtame.txt