Batch script to exctract everything between 2 regex

Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.

Moderator: DosItHelp

Elpolloloco

Batch script to exctract everything between 2 regex

#1 Post by Elpolloloco » 04 Feb 2020 09:54

Hello everyone. I am new to programming I have about 400 *.txt files in a folder, they all contain data between 2 specific text and I need that data either in a new file (one file per *.txt)

I have read about jrepl.bat but i really have no idea how to do it i have try everything and nothing works.

Can someone help me with that, what should I add in the jrepl.bat for such thing to happend, and where in the .bat file

dbenham
Expert

Re: Batch script to exctract everything between 2 regex

#2 Post by dbenham » 04 Feb 2020 11:14

You have not given enough information to give any help.

What are the text markers that identify the text to keep? Are they string literals? or regex?
Should the markers be included in the output?
Do the markers constitute an entire line? If not then the line containing the markers may need to be split.

In addition to fully describing the rules, you should provide a small test file as well as the expected output. It doesn't need to be real data, just enough to illustrate the rules.

Dave Benham

Elpolloloco

#3 Post by Elpolloloco » 04 Feb 2020 12:21

Ok sorry for not giving info. Here is an example

I have a lot of files in a folder, with many names, all are *.txt

Original_file.txt
Line 1
Line 2
Line 3
Line 4
Line 5

I want a new file (or the file itself can be modified) with this result

Output_file.txt
Line 3
Line 4

The point is, getting everything that is between the regex values "Line 2" and "Line 5"

Or, at least delete everything above "Line 3" in one script and another to delete everything after "Line 4"

Keep in mind that the folder has hundreds of *.txt files so i just want the batch to do it automatically with everything inside that folder.

Thank you very much for the help. :D

dbenham