can you do this batch ocrrectly for me please

Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.

Moderator: DosItHelp

Post Reply
Message
Author
abuchaibe3
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Apr 2020 03:34

can you do this batch ocrrectly for me please

#1 Post by abuchaibe3 » 07 Apr 2020 03:50

Hello there, im really noob with cmd prompt xD i made two basic (i guess) scripts and they didn't work, it says it's incorrrect:
@echo off

netsh interface ipv4 set dnsservers "Conexión de red inalámbrica" static 8.8.8.8 primary

netsh interface ipv4 add dnsservers "Conexión de red inalámbrica" 8.8.4.4

netsh interface ipv6 set dnsservers "Conexión de red inalámbrica" static 2001:4860:4860::8888 primary

netsh interface ipv6 add dnsservers "Conexión de red inalámbrica" 2001:4860:4860::8844

ipconfig /flushdns

pause
all those command works if i write them normally by myself, xD but it won't if i write them in a notepad... i dont really know what's wrong, it says "The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect inside batch", maybe u could help me to write it correctly. :D .

Also i made this one, super simple and again, it works if i dont save it as .bat with notepad, but if i do that the command doesn't stop repeating :(
ping 66.151.33.4 -t
My english isn't good, i apologize if i said something wrong, i hope you can understand me

jeb
Expert
Posts: 1042
Joined: 30 Aug 2007 08:05
Location: Germany, Bochum

Re: can you do this batch ocrrectly for me please

#2 Post by jeb » 07 Apr 2020 05:25

Hi abuchaibe3,

first your problem with "ping 66.151.33.4 -t"
abuchaibe3 wrote:
07 Apr 2020 03:50
if i dont save it as .bat with notepad, but if i do that the command doesn't stop repeating
I guess, you save it as "ping.bat" ?
If yes, think about it a minute and you will find the problem.

Your first problem occurs probably from your utf-8 charcters.

It works in the console, but if you save it with notepad, it will store it UTF-8 encoded.
Try to save it with ANSI-Encoding (You could use notepad++ for this).


jeb

abuchaibe3
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Apr 2020 03:34

Re: can you do this batch ocrrectly for me please

#3 Post by abuchaibe3 » 07 Apr 2020 16:08

Hi jeb, i did what you said and it keeps repeating, i downloaded notepad++ and i saved it as ANSI batch, what should i do? And what should i do with the first script? xD i don't know what's wrong:(

jeb
Expert
Posts: 1042
Joined: 30 Aug 2007 08:05
Location: Germany, Bochum

Re: can you do this batch ocrrectly for me please

#4 Post by jeb » 07 Apr 2020 23:09

Hi,

you should check, that there is no ping.bat in your working directory, else it will be infinitely repeated,
because "ping 66.151.33.4 -t" will call the batch file "ping.bat" not the ping.exe command.

Your other problem is the character encoding of "Conexión de red inalámbrica".
You got the error "The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect inside batch" if there is no interface with the given name.

In your case the name doesn't match, because you saved the file with the wrong encoding.
With notepad++ you can choose Encoding->Convert to ANSI and then save the file

jeb

abuchaibe3
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Apr 2020 03:34

Re: can you do this batch ocrrectly for me please

#5 Post by abuchaibe3 » 08 Apr 2020 02:48

Thanks you a lot, u helped me to fix the ping command!! :)

The other script, like i said, if i write it normally in command prompt, by myself one command by one, it works, but if i put all those commands in one batch script it doesnt work, i don't know why, all those commands are well written, "Conexión de red inalámbrica" is okay, i proved it, thats my WiFi, what should i do in this case?

I tried this:

Code: Select all

@echo off

netsh

interface

ipv4

set dnsservers "Conexión de red inalámbrica" static 8.8.8.8 primary

netsh

interface

ipv4

add dnsservers "Conexión de red inalámbrica" 8.8.4.4

netsh

interface

ipv6 

set dnsservers "Conexión de red inalámbrica" static 2001:4860:4860::8888 primary

netsh

interface

ipv6

add dnsservers "Conexión de red inalámbrica" 2001:4860:4860::8844

pause
but doesn't work, it get stuck here:

Image

(i also tried to convert to ANSI)

ShadowThief
Expert
Posts: 1163
Joined: 06 Sep 2013 21:28
Location: Virginia, United States

Re: can you do this batch ocrrectly for me please

#6 Post by ShadowThief » 08 Apr 2020 13:53

You had it correct the first time with

Code: Select all

netsh interface ipv4 set dnsservers "Conexión de red inalámbrica" static 8.8.8.8 primary
netsh interface ipv4 add dnsservers "Conexión de red inalámbrica" 8.8.4.4
netsh interface ipv6 set dnsservers "Conexión de red inalámbrica" static 2001:4860:4860::8888 primary
netsh interface ipv6 add dnsservers "Conexión de red inalámbrica" 2001:4860:4860::8844
You didn't specify what you mean by "it doesn't work," so I can't give a more detailed answer at this time.

abuchaibe3
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Apr 2020 03:34

Re: can you do this batch ocrrectly for me please

#7 Post by abuchaibe3 » 08 Apr 2020 18:14

Hi! this is what i did: i opened a notepad, put that lines, then saved it as a .bat file, but when i open it, it says "The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect inside batch, press one key to continue . . ." (exactly that in spanish):

Image

like i said, its all well written, in command prompt those commands work normally, but in the .bat file it doesnt, its encoded as ANSI and i tried to save it .exe, still not working

penpen
Expert
Posts: 1997
Joined: 23 Jun 2013 06:15
Location: Germany

Re: can you do this batch ocrrectly for me please

#8 Post by penpen » 14 Apr 2020 06:00

I guess it's a codepage issue:
Windows notepad uses the OEM codepage to save text (on my pc: CP 1252) while the command line interpreter (cmd.exe) typically uses the ANSI codepage (on my pc: CP 850).

So if your pc uses the same codepages, then the CP1252 string "Conexión de red inalámbrica" is interpreted as:
"Conexi¾n de red inalßmbrica".

You might download the "info.zip" and execute the "info.bat" contained in the zip-file to get your settings:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6108#p49091.

Then you could save, change and restore the codepage (untested; assumes CP 1252 to be your OEM codepage):

Code: Select all

setlocal enableExtensions disableDelayedExpansion
for /f "tokens=*" %%a in ('chcp') do for %%b in (%%a) do set "_codepage=%%~nb"
chcp 1252
netsh interface ipv4 set dnsservers "Conexión de red inalámbrica" static 8.8.8.8 primary
netsh interface ipv4 add dnsservers "Conexión de red inalámbrica" 8.8.4.4
netsh interface ipv6 set dnsservers "Conexión de red inalámbrica" static 2001:4860:4860::8888 primary
netsh interface ipv6 add dnsservers "Conexión de red inalámbrica" 2001:4860:4860::8844
chcp %_codepage%
goto :eof
penpen

Post Reply