Put the End Time the computer will sleep.

Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.

Moderator: DosItHelp

Post Reply
Message
Author
PAB
Posts: 128
Joined: 12 Aug 2019 13:57

Put the End Time the computer will sleep.

#1 Post by PAB » 09 Feb 2021 12:45

Good evening,

The code below works . . .

Code: Select all

set /p "time=>Please enter the Time in minutes and press <Enter>: "
set /a time=%time%*60

if %time% GEQ 1 (
  echo  The computer is getting ready to go to Sleep . . .
  timeout %time% /nobreak > nul
  %SystemRoot%\system32\rundll32.exe powrprof.dll, SetSuspendState 0,1,0
  echo. & echo ^>Press ANY key to EXIT . . . & pause >nul & Exit
) else (
  echo  ERROR: You MUST enter the number of MINUTES^!
  echo ^>Press ANY key to return to the Options . . . & pause >nul & cls & goto :Options
)
Now I want to add the actual time [ Hours and Minutes only ] that it will actually go to sleep. The input is in minutes. The below just puts the CURRENT time . . .

Code: Select all

set StartTime=%time%

set /p "time=>Please enter the Time in minutes and press <Enter>: "
set /a time=%time%*60

set /a time1=%time%*60
for /f "tokens=1*" %%a in ('PowerShell -NoP -C "(Get-Date).AddMinutes(%time1%).ToString('HH:mm')"') do (set "MyTime=%%a")

if %time% GEQ 1 (
  echo  The computer will go to sleep at %MyTime% . . .
  timeout %time% /nobreak > nul
  %SystemRoot%\system32\rundll32.exe powrprof.dll, SetSuspendState 0,1,0
  echo ^>Press ANY key to EXIT . . . & pause >nul & Exit
) else (
  echo  ERROR: You MUST enter the number of MINUTES^!
  echo ^>Press ANY key to return to the Options . . . & pause >nul & cls & goto :Options
)
I have tried using wmic, something like this . . .
for /f %%i in ('wmic OS Get LocalDateTime /Value ^& wmic Path Win32_LocalTime Get DayOfWeek /Value') do for /f %%j in ("%%i") do (set "%%j")
set "Hours=%LocalDateTime:~8,2%" & set "Minutes=%LocalDateTime:~10,2%"
. . . among other things but I can't seem to get it to work!

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

PAB
Posts: 128
Joined: 12 Aug 2019 13:57

Re: Put the End Time the computer will sleep.

#2 Post by PAB » 10 Feb 2021 06:10

Good afternoon,

I also tried this which works as long as the the MINUTES are not equal to or greater than 120 . . .

Code: Select all

@echo off

set /A TimeTest=90

set hh=%time:~0,2%
if "%hh:~,1%"=="0" set hh=%hh:~1,2%

set mm=%time:~3,2%
if "%mm:~,1%"=="0" set mm=%mm:~1,2%

set /A mm=%mm%+%TimeTest%
::if %mm% GEQ  60 set /A mm=%mm%-60  && set /A hh=%hh%+1
::if %mm% GEQ 120 set /A mm=%mm%-120 && set /A hh=%hh%+2

if %mm% GEQ 60 set /A mm=%mm%-60  && set /A hh=%hh%+1
if %mm% GEQ 60 if %mm% GEQ 120 set /A mm=%mm%-120 && set /A hh=%hh%+2

if %hh% GEQ 24 set hh=00

if %mm% LSS 10 set mm=0%mm%
if %hh% LSS 10 set hh=0%hh:~1,1%

set hhmm=%hh%:%mm%

echo %hhmm%

pause & exit
Thanks in advance.

T3RRY
Posts: 162
Joined: 06 May 2020 10:14

Re: Put the End Time the computer will sleep.

#3 Post by T3RRY » 10 Feb 2021 14:11

With the aid of powershell:

- GetEnd.ps1

Code: Select all

Param($p1)
$offset = New-TimeSpan -minutes $P1
(Get-Date) + $Offset
Example Batch:

Code: Select all

@Echo off
 :Input
 Set /P "Minutes=Enter Minutes: "
 Echo("%Minutes%"|%__APPDIR__%findstr.exe /RX "[0123456789""]*" > nul || Goto :Input
 For /F "Delims=" %%G in ('powershell -executionpolicy bypass -file GetEnd.ps1 %Minutes%')Do Set "Sleep.time=%%G"
 Echo(%Sleep.time%

PAB
Posts: 128
Joined: 12 Aug 2019 13:57

Re: Put the End Time the computer will sleep.

#4 Post by PAB » 11 Feb 2021 03:22

Thanks for the reply T3RRY, it is very much appreciated.

That works. It is obviously one of those situations where PS is far better at achieving something rather than using a Batch script.

Stay well and be SAFE.

T3RRY
Posts: 162
Joined: 06 May 2020 10:14

Re: Put the End Time the computer will sleep.

#5 Post by T3RRY » 11 Feb 2021 12:09

PAB wrote:
11 Feb 2021 03:22
Thanks for the reply T3RRY, it is very much appreciated.

That works. It is obviously one of those situations where PS is far better at achieving something rather than using a Batch script.

Stay well and be SAFE.
Indeed. I really should learn more about powershell scripting myself.
If your interested, this is the resource I used for this: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powers ... rshell-7.1
For example I should have learned prior how to concatenate powershell commands to avoid the need for an external script like So:

Code: Select all

@Echo off
:Offset <Days| Minutes | Hours | Seconds>
 Echo(%*|%__APPDIR__%findstr.exe /BEIC:"Days" /BEIC:"Minutes" /BEIC:"Hours" /BEIC:"Seconds" > nul || (
  Echo( * Invalid Parameter supplied for %%1 *
  %__APPDIR__%findstr.exe /BC:":Offset" "%~f0"
  Goto :Eof
 )
 Set ".Offset="
 Set /P ".Offset=Enter %~1: "
 2> nul Set ".Offset" |%__APPDIR__%findstr.exe /RX "[\.][O][f][f][s][e][t][=][0123456789]*" > nul || Goto :Offset
 For /F "UsebackQ Delims=" %%G in (`powershell.exe -command "$offset = New-TimeSpan -%~1 %.Offset%;(Get-Date) + $Offset"`)Do Set "Sleep.time=%%G"
 Echo(%Sleep.time%
 Exit /B 0
 

PAB
Posts: 128
Joined: 12 Aug 2019 13:57

Re: Put the End Time the computer will sleep.

#6 Post by PAB » 11 Feb 2021 13:55

Thanks again for the reply T3RRY, it is very much appreciated.

I couldn't get this to work in a Batch script because it didn't ask for the minutes to input.

Am I being a bit slow?

T3RRY
Posts: 162
Joined: 06 May 2020 10:14

Re: Put the End Time the computer will sleep.

#7 Post by T3RRY » 11 Feb 2021 14:23

Call it as you would Any function, supplying the offset type, in your usage case, Minutes:

Code: Select all

Call :Offset Minutes
How are you calling it? Can you show the code thats failing?

PAB
Posts: 128
Joined: 12 Aug 2019 13:57

Re: Put the End Time the computer will sleep.

#8 Post by PAB » 11 Feb 2021 16:42

I have to input the minutes twice, and then after it has finished, a message briefly pops up. I had to add a pause to see the output. Here is the code . . .

Code: Select all

@Echo off
Set /P "Minutes=Enter Minutes: "
Call :Offset Minutes
pause

:Offset <Days| Minutes | Hours | Seconds>
 Echo(%*|%__APPDIR__%findstr.exe /BEIC:"Days" /BEIC:"Minutes" /BEIC:"Hours" /BEIC:"Seconds" > nul || (
  Echo( * Invalid Parameter supplied for %%1 *
  %__APPDIR__%findstr.exe /BC:":Offset" "%~f0"
  Goto :Eof
 )
 Set ".Offset="
 Set /P ".Offset=Enter %~1: "
 2> nul Set ".Offset" |%__APPDIR__%findstr.exe /RX "[\.][O][f][f][s][e][t][=][0123456789]*" > nul || Goto :Offset
 For /F "UsebackQ Delims=" %%G in (`powershell.exe -command "$offset = New-TimeSpan -%~1 %.Offset%;(Get-Date) + $Offset"`)Do Set "Sleep.time=%%G"
 Echo(%Sleep.time%
 Exit /B 0
Thanks in advance.

T3RRY
Posts: 162
Joined: 06 May 2020 10:14

Re: Put the End Time the computer will sleep.

#9 Post by T3RRY » 11 Feb 2021 17:35

When testing a script, call it from the command line so the console remains open after it's execution.

A modified and remarked version for your understanding:

Code: Select all

@Echo off & Goto :MAIN
:Offset <Days| Hours | Minutes | Seconds> </N (Negative)>
rem /* Assign Params value for testing */
 Set "Params=%*"
rem /* Test for No args */
 If "%Params%" == "" Goto :ParamErr.Offset
rem /* Test for Usage Arg */
 If Not "%Params:/?=%" == "%Params%" Goto :Usage.Offset
rem /* Validate Arg 1 Option ; Show Error and Usage if Not */
 Echo/%~1|%__APPDIR__%findstr.exe /BEIC:"Days" /BEIC:"Minutes" /BEIC:"Hours" /BEIC:"Seconds" > nul || (
:ParamErr.Offset
  Echo/ * VALID Parameter for %%1 required:
:Usage.Offset
  %__APPDIR__%findstr.exe /BC:":Offset" "%~f0"
  Goto :Eof
 )
rem /* Test for /N negative offset switch */
 If Not "%Params:/N=%" == "%Params%" ( Set "Offset.Type=-" )Else Set "Offset.type=+"
:Offset.Def
rem /* Reset .Offset var and take input */
 Set ".Offset="
 Set /P ".Offset=Enter %~1: "
rem /* Validate Input is an Integer */
 2> nul Set ".Offset" |%__APPDIR__%findstr.exe /RX "[\.][O][f][f][s][e][t][=][0123456789]*" > nul || Goto :Offset.Def
Rem /* Enact Powershell Command to Get Offset Date Time */
 For /F "UsebackQ Delims=" %%G in (`powershell.exe -command "$offset = New-TimeSpan -%~1 %.Offset%;(Get-Date) %Offset.Type% $Offset"`)Do Set "Offset.time=%%G"
 Echo/%Offset.time%
 Exit /B 0
 ===========================
 :MAIN :#Your script body below
PAB wrote:
11 Feb 2021 16:42
I have to input the minutes twice, and then after it has finished, a message briefly pops up. I had to add a pause to see the output. Here is the code . . .
I have to ask, Why would you add an additional Set /P Minutes when the function already asks for input of the Value?
If you wish for some reason to retain the entered minutes value after the function is called, It is available in the variable ".Offset":

Code: Select all

 :MAIN :#Your script body below
:# Your script
 Call :Offset Minutes
 Set "Minutes=%.Offset%"
:# Your script after call
FYI, I don't tend to script single purpose functions, as it limits how useful they are to others, and even to the initial user should they have similar, but slightly different needs in the future.
The reason for the .Offset var being Defined within the function is to ensure it is Suitable as Input to the Powershell command.
Validation is enacted on Arg 1 and the assigned input of Set /P using findstr to ensure the powershell command is valid, with regards to both the measure and quantity of time.
As it's scripted the function can be used by you or others for determining an offset date / time in either + or - Days, Hours, Minutes or Seconds without requiring further modification, instead of being constrained to just getting a + minutes offset
Last edited by T3RRY on 12 Feb 2021 05:56, edited 1 time in total.

PAB
Posts: 128
Joined: 12 Aug 2019 13:57

Re: Put the End Time the computer will sleep.

#10 Post by PAB » 12 Feb 2021 04:26

Thanks again for the reply T3RRY and detailed explanations, it is very much appreciated.

I will have to leave this. I am a 60+ somebody who just likes doing things to keep my brain active. I am not a programmer in any way, but unfortunately this is beyond my capabilities.

I did try and I just couldn't get it to work. I keep wanting to add another Set /P "Minutes=Enter Minutes: " and then Call :Offset Minutes, but I know that is wrong.

Thanks again, and I hope you and your family keep well and SAFE.

T3RRY
Posts: 162
Joined: 06 May 2020 10:14

Re: Put the End Time the computer will sleep.

#11 Post by T3RRY » 12 Feb 2021 06:06

Below is a script that the function used to effect your end goal, albeit in a slightly different way:

Code: Select all

@Echo off & Goto :MAIN
:Offset <Days| Hours | Minutes | Seconds> </N (Negative)>
rem /* Assign Params value for testing */
 Set "Params=%*"
rem /* Test for No args */
 If "%Params%" == "" Goto :ParamErr.Offset
rem /* Test for Usage Arg */
 If Not "%Params:/?=%" == "%Params%" Goto :Usage.Offset
rem /* Validate Arg 1 Option ; Show Error and Usage if Not */
 Echo/%~1|%__APPDIR__%findstr.exe /BEIC:"Days" /BEIC:"Minutes" /BEIC:"Hours" /BEIC:"Seconds" > nul || (
:ParamErr.Offset
  Echo/ * VALID Parameter for %%1 required:
:Usage.Offset
  %__APPDIR__%findstr.exe /BC:":Offset" "%~f0"
  Goto :Eof
 )
rem /* Test for /N negative offset switch */
 If Not "%Params:/N=%" == "%Params%" ( Set "Offset.Type=-" )Else  Set "Offset.Type=+"
:Offset.Def
rem /* Reset .Offset var and take input */
 Set ".Offset="
 Set /P ".Offset=Enter %~1: "
rem /* Validate Input is an Integer */
 2> nul Set ".Offset" |%__APPDIR__%findstr.exe /RX "[\.][O][f][f][s][e][t][=][0123456789]*" > nul || Goto :Offset.Def
Rem /* Enact Powershell Command to Get Offset Date Time */
 For /F "UsebackQ Delims=" %%G in (`powershell.exe -command "$offset = New-TimeSpan -%~1 %.Offset%;(Get-Date) %Offset.Type% $Offset"`)Do Set "Offset.time=%%G"
 Exit /B 0
 ===========================
 :MAIN
 Call :Offset Minutes
 For /F %%a in ('Echo prompt $E^|cmd')Do set "\E=%%a" 
 Setlocal enabledelayedexpansion
 Set "end="&CLS
 For /L %%. in ()Do If "!end!" == "" (
  For /F "Delims=" %%v in ('Powershell -Command Get-Date')Do If not "!Offset.Time:%%v=!" == "!Offset.Time!" (
   Set "End=1"
   powershell.exe -command "Add-Type -AssemblyName System.Windows.Forms;$PowerState = [System.Windows.Forms.PowerState]::Suspend;$Force = $false;$DisableWake = $false;[System.Windows.Forms.Application]::SetSuspendState($PowerState, $Force, $DisableWake);"
  )Else ( <Nul Set /P "=%\E%[1;1H%\E%[32m[%%v]%\E%[2;1H%\E%[31m[!Offset.Time!]%\E%[0m" )
 )Else Exit
I will have to leave this. I am a 60+ somebody who just likes doing things to keep my brain active. I am not a programmer in any way, but unfortunately this is beyond my capabilities.
Never underestimate yourself. I began learning scripting 14 months ago, for much the same reason as yourself, and I'm no spring chicken either. I've not bothered taking any computer science or maths courses I'd need to in order to call myself a developer, but I approach the coding I do as an excercise in problem solving, and use s.m.a.r.t prolem solving steps to Get from scratch to script. There's an abundance of information available to be learnt at the pace that suits you, or even just to select information from that will assist in solving a given problem.

miskox
Posts: 397
Joined: 28 Jun 2010 03:46

Re: Put the End Time the computer will sleep.

#12 Post by miskox » 12 Feb 2021 06:36

PAB wrote:
09 Feb 2021 12:45
Good evening,

The code below works . . .

Code: Select all

set /p "time=>Please enter the Time in minutes and press <Enter>: "
set /a time=%time%*60

if %time% GEQ 1 (
  echo  The computer is getting ready to go to Sleep . . .
  timeout %time% /nobreak > nul
  %SystemRoot%\system32\rundll32.exe powrprof.dll, SetSuspendState 0,1,0
  echo. & echo ^>Press ANY key to EXIT . . . & pause >nul & Exit
) else (
  echo  ERROR: You MUST enter the number of MINUTES^!
  echo ^>Press ANY key to return to the Options . . . & pause >nul & cls & goto :Options
)
Now I want to add the actual time [ Hours and Minutes only ] that it will actually go to sleep. The input is in minutes. The below just puts the CURRENT time . . .

Code: Select all

set StartTime=%time%

set /p "time=>Please enter the Time in minutes and press <Enter>: "
set /a time=%time%*60

set /a time1=%time%*60
for /f "tokens=1*" %%a in ('PowerShell -NoP -C "(Get-Date).AddMinutes(%time1%).ToString('HH:mm')"') do (set "MyTime=%%a")

if %time% GEQ 1 (
  echo  The computer will go to sleep at %MyTime% . . .
  timeout %time% /nobreak > nul
  %SystemRoot%\system32\rundll32.exe powrprof.dll, SetSuspendState 0,1,0
  echo ^>Press ANY key to EXIT . . . & pause >nul & Exit
) else (
  echo  ERROR: You MUST enter the number of MINUTES^!
  echo ^>Press ANY key to return to the Options . . . & pause >nul & cls & goto :Options
)
I have tried using wmic, something like this . . .
for /f %%i in ('wmic OS Get LocalDateTime /Value ^& wmic Path Win32_LocalTime Get DayOfWeek /Value') do for /f %%j in ("%%i") do (set "%%j")
set "Hours=%LocalDateTime:~8,2%" & set "Minutes=%LocalDateTime:~10,2%"
. . . among other things but I can't seem to get it to work!

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.


Isn't the reason that PAB uses time as a variable name?

Code: Select all

set /p "time=>Please enter the Time in minutes and press <Enter>: "
set /a time=%time%*60
Saso

PAB
Posts: 128
Joined: 12 Aug 2019 13:57

Re: Put the End Time the computer will sleep.

#13 Post by PAB » 13 Feb 2021 03:41

Thanks again for the reply T3RRY, it is very much appreciated.

I still can't get my head round how to get this to work. If I run the code it asks for the minutes, I enter those and press enter and I don't get the revised time.
Thank you for the time and effort you have put into this. It is not important so please don't spend any more time on it.

Stay SAFE, Best Regards, Paul.

Eureka!
Posts: 123
Joined: 25 Jul 2019 18:25

Re: Put the End Time the computer will sleep.

#14 Post by Eureka! » 16 Feb 2021 10:22

Maybe this can help you:

Code: Select all

@echo off
setlocal

set MINUTES=12

for /f "usebackq delims=" %%t in (`powershell.exe -ExecutionPolicy Bypass -noprofile -nologo  -command ^(get-date^).AddMinutes^(%MINUTES%^)`) DO set BEDTIME=%%t

echo BEDTIME = %BEDTIME%
pause

The tricky part is escaping special characters between (` and `)

Post Reply