utility fs.exe for fullscreen

Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.

Moderator: DosItHelp

Message
Author
carlos
Expert
Posts: 503
Joined: 20 Aug 2010 13:57
Location: Chile
Contact:

utility fs.exe for fullscreen

#1 Post by carlos » 15 Dec 2013 01:04

Hello.
A recent topic was about get fullscreen in 8.

Notice: the version 0.5 was uploaded

Changelog:
+Windows 7 bugfix.
+Option: /hmc that hide the mouse cursor.

I write a utility that emulate the fullscreen feature of cmd in Windows vista and above. And run the feature on Windows xp, and emulate it on Windows vista and above.

Tested ok:
Windows Xp
Windows 7
Windows 8
Windows 8.1

Here is the executable + source: http://cmdfs.googlecode.com/svn/fs.zip
Mirror: http://goo.gl/dEVRnB

For test it:

Code: Select all

@echo off
fs.exe
echo hello
pause


Please, give me feedback.

Carlos.
Last edited by carlos on 18 Dec 2013 08:50, edited 10 times in total.

foxidrive
Expert
Posts: 6031
Joined: 10 Feb 2012 02:20

Re: utility fs.exe for fullscreen

#2 Post by foxidrive » 15 Dec 2013 03:26

Windows 8.1 32 bit

I get an expanded size CMD window with no borders that extends from the top and sides - but below the bottom edge is a portion of a background window and the taskbar is fully in view.
Two windows which are 'on top' are also covering the CMD window.

Still, It's pretty big.

carlos
Expert
Posts: 503
Joined: 20 Aug 2010 13:57
Location: Chile
Contact:

Re: utility fs.exe for fullscreen

#3 Post by carlos » 15 Dec 2013 05:23

@foxidrive: Very thanks for the comments. I update the code for cover all the window except the taskbar. Please you can test? Now the your two windows on top are in background ?.

Carlos

einstein1969
Expert
Posts: 941
Joined: 15 Jun 2012 13:16
Location: Italy, Rome

Re: utility fs.exe for fullscreen

#4 Post by einstein1969 » 15 Dec 2013 06:52

Hi Carlos,

i have tested on win7 32bit. This is a good work! Thanks!

My feedback on fs ver 0.2:

image 1: double-click on test.cmd
image 2: run fs inside a cmd windows.

get images with printscreen (whole screen).

there are problem in the in the upper right and in in the lower left (or lower line)

The size of taskbar is different from winxp and win7. Can you implement this?

image 1:
Image
image 2:
Image

edit:
I have tested the previus 2 cmd windows in fs together . The image 1 is on foreground the image 2 in background. There is a vertical blue line on the right side.

Image

Edit2: I have autohide taskbar. But don't work with fs! The taskbar is not show!

Einstein1969

carlos
Expert
Posts: 503
Joined: 20 Aug 2010 13:57
Location: Chile
Contact:

Re: utility fs.exe for fullscreen

#5 Post by carlos » 15 Dec 2013 16:10

@Einstein1969: thanks for the comments. I test on a Windows 7 and Works. I cannot reproduce your results. Please you can give me more information: what type of taskbar you use? classic?

The image 2 is using the fullscreen on Windows xp? but it anyways show the taskbar?
The image 3 is using the versión 0.1 ?

In my Windows 7 the fullscreen cover all except the taskbar. If the taskbar is in autohide mode, then all the screen is covered.
In my Windows 8 Works, but the taskbar is the open source project classic shell.

einstein1969
Expert
Posts: 941
Joined: 15 Jun 2012 13:16
Location: Italy, Rome

Re: utility fs.exe for fullscreen

#6 Post by einstein1969 » 15 Dec 2013 16:30

carlos wrote:@Einstein1969: thanks for the comments. I test on a Windows 7 and Works. I cannot reproduce your results. Please you can give me more information: what type of taskbar you use? classic?

Classic taskbar.

The image 2 is using the fullscreen on Windows xp? but it anyways show the taskbar?

Image 2 is on windows 7 32bit. The taskbar is hide but when i go down with mouse this not show. The only mode for show is the WINDOWS KEY.

The image 3 is using the versión 0.1 ?

The image 3 is using the version 0.2. The image was taken with two cmd in fullscreen (fs ver. 0.2)

Einstein1969

penpen
Expert
Posts: 1991
Joined: 23 Jun 2013 06:15
Location: Germany

Re: utility fs.exe for fullscreen

#7 Post by penpen » 15 Dec 2013 17:40

The fs.exe (fs.c) uses the function SetWindowPos with th 2nd parameter (hWndInsertAfter) set to HWND_TOPMOST, so it should always overlap the taskbar.
Maybe you may use HWND_TOP instead.

You may also use SWP_FRAMECHANGED, and SWP_NOCOPYBITS for the last SetWindowPos parameter, maybe this fixes the unexpected artefacts (only guessed, i'm using a pc of a friend, and she disallows me to install a cpp dev studio).

Another reason of those artefacts may be, that in win xp the client window, has a maximum size of ("screen_size" - "decoration_sizes").
If this maximum hasn't changed in Win 7/8, then it doesn't matter whether the border and title bar are set to be visble or not; a hint would be, if the artefacts on the right side are 12 pixels width, and the artefacts on thebottom are 31 pixels height (maybe the pixel sizes differ, should be the diffSize of the cmd.exe's window and it's client window; maybe just add functionality to display this when using a "/debug"-switch).

penpen

carlos
Expert
Posts: 503
Joined: 20 Aug 2010 13:57
Location: Chile
Contact:

Re: utility fs.exe for fullscreen

#8 Post by carlos » 15 Dec 2013 19:09

@penpen: thanks for the comments. I uploaded the version 0.3 that implement that you say. I compile it using mingw gcc.

foxidrive
Expert
Posts: 6031
Joined: 10 Feb 2012 02:20

Re: utility fs.exe for fullscreen

#9 Post by foxidrive » 15 Dec 2013 19:10

I tried to get V.2 and V.3 and get this error.

Code: Select all

Not Found

The requested URL /svn/fs.zip was not found on this server.

carlos
Expert
Posts: 503
Joined: 20 Aug 2010 13:57
Location: Chile
Contact:

Re: utility fs.exe for fullscreen

#10 Post by carlos » 15 Dec 2013 19:14

foxidrive wrote:I tried to get V.2 and V.3 and get this error.

Code: Select all

Not Found

The requested URL /svn/fs.zip was not found on this server.


@foxidrive: I upload it recently. Please, try again.
I not keeping any old version. On new version I replace the fs.zip.

foxidrive
Expert
Posts: 6031
Joined: 10 Feb 2012 02:20

Re: utility fs.exe for fullscreen

#11 Post by foxidrive » 15 Dec 2013 21:57

I still get the not found error, carlos. Was the URL changed?

carlos
Expert
Posts: 503
Joined: 20 Aug 2010 13:57
Location: Chile
Contact:

Re: utility fs.exe for fullscreen

#12 Post by carlos » 16 Dec 2013 00:02

foxidrive wrote:I still get the not found error, carlos. Was the URL changed?


I remember that the first link was /trunk/fs.zip now it is /fs.zip
Anyways: I add a mirror link in the first post where you can download the fs.zip

foxidrive
Expert
Posts: 6031
Joined: 10 Feb 2012 02:20

Re: utility fs.exe for fullscreen

#13 Post by foxidrive » 16 Dec 2013 01:23

The svn\fs.zip link doesn't exist and the goo.gl link has no way to download the file that I can find.

carlos
Expert
Posts: 503
Joined: 20 Aug 2010 13:57
Location: Chile
Contact:

Re: utility fs.exe for fullscreen

#14 Post by carlos » 16 Dec 2013 02:40

@foxidrive.
I replace in the url https:// by http:// maybe now it Works for you.
In the mirror link you need do clic on fs.zip and now in the button like in this picture:

Image

Dos_Probie
Posts: 233
Joined: 21 Nov 2010 08:07
Location: At My Computer

Re: utility fs.exe for fullscreen

#15 Post by Dos_Probie » 16 Dec 2013 04:05

Carlos, works with Windows 8.1 x64 (see url below) but if I attempt to right-click and run as admin I get the following error:

Code: Select all

'fs.exe is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.
Hello
press any key to continue . .

http://postimg.org/image/h32v6p8i1/

Post Reply